Harriet Jacobs : a life / Jean Fagan Yellin.

Provides a detailed study of the life of the nineteenth-century writer, covering her life under slavery, as a fugitive slave, and in the post-Civil War years, and her writing of the slave narrative "Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl."

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Yellin, Jean Fagan (Author)
Format: Book
Published: New York : Basic Civitas Books, ©2004.
Table of Contents:
  • Hatty
  • Private Dreams of Freedom and a Home
  • So Fondly Shielded
  • My Puny Arm Felt Strong
  • A Determined Will
  • Cunning Against Cunning
  • Sometimes Like Freedom
  • Linda
  • Public Dreams of Freedom and a Home
  • A Great Millstone Lifted
  • Let Me Come Before the World
  • The Slave's Own Story
  • Mrs. Jacobs
  • Public Demands For Freedom and Homes
  • Spared for this Work
  • Justice Will Come
  • Marching Without a Lance
  • No Cloudless Happiness
  • Remember the Poor
  • Unshaken by the Wind.