The invisible presidency.

Portraits of seven presidential confidants who have wielded behind-the-scenes power at the White House - Alexander Hamilton, Martin van Buren, William Loeb, Jr., Colonel House, Thomas Corcoran, Harry Hopkins, and Sherman Adams.

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Koenig, Louis W. 1916-2011.
Format: Book
Published: New York, Rinehart [1960]
Table of Contents:
  • pt. 1.
  • The invisible presidency
  • pt. 2.
  • Eminent favorites:
  • Operation genius: Alexander Hamilton
  • The little magician: Martin Van Buren
  • The perfect stenographer: William Loeb, Jr.
  • Sphinx in a soft hat: Colonel Edward M. House
  • Tommy the cork: Thomas G. Corcoran
  • Lord root of the matter: Harry Hopkins
  • "O.K., S.A.": Sherman Adams
  • Design for tomorrow.